The time has come for a driver to purchase an vehicle insurance policy, and they don’t know where to start. Luckily finding coverage in Tennessee is typically pretty easy. What is slightly more challenging is finding a policy that is not only affordable, but also offers the right kind of protection. A driver should have some basic understanding of what degree of protection they will need based off of their income, driving habits, and type of car they drive; though naturally, there are many other factors that may change what a motorist will be looking for. The next step is usually to look in to getting a series of online quotes.
Finding the right Tennessee vehicle insurance means knowing what specific types of coverage a motorist must have. The Volunteer State, like many others, has a series of requirements that must be met when purchasing a plan. Tennessee’s Financial Responsibility laws were first implemented in 1977 which required that motorists have to carry documentation proving that they will be able to accept financial responsibility for damages which they may cause in an vehicle accident in which a person or persons were injured. In addition to this, drivers must also have at least $25,000 worth of Bodily Injury Liability (BI) coverage per person, and $50,000 BI for an accident as a whole. Additionally, policyholders must carry $15,000 worth Property Damage (PD) liability to cover the property damages of another party that may have occurred during an vehicle accident. Typically, this entire array of requirements can be abbreviated as 25/50/15.